Exporting GPS units from the U.S.

Chelynn

OK folks, so I am brand new to Geocaching and haven't even found the GPS system I want to buy yet. I have to weigh out my budget versus the features I want...so I can't answer a darned thing about the type of GPS system to buy...

However, I CAN tell you that GPS is on the U.S. Department of Commerce Commodity Controlled List. GPS Systems fall under ECCN # 7A994. http://www.access.gpo.gov/bis/ear/pdf/ccl7.pdf

:unsure:

The reason I bring it up here is that IF you are a U.S. seller and you wish to sell a GPS system to someone outside the United States or US territories (i.e. Puerto Rico & Guam) in most cases, you are not prohibited from making the sale, but you do have to follow some extra protocols and do additional research.

Fines, fees, and penalties do apply and they get VERY steep. And in this instance, ignorance of the law is no exception.

IF you find yourself in a position to sell to a non-US entity and you would like assistance in legally transacting business, feel free to shoot me an email and I will do the legwork for you, free of charge....

Happy hunting (and if anyone knows of the perfect sweet entry-level unit at a sweet price, shoot me an email on that one too....)

Edited by Chelynn

OK folks, so I am brand new to Geocaching and haven't even found the GPS system I want to buy yet. I have to weigh out my budget versus the features I want...so I can't answer a darned thing about the type of GPS system to buy...

However, I CAN tell you that GPS is on the U.S. Department of Commerce Commodity Controlled List. GPS Systems fall under ECCN # 7A994. http://www.access.gpo.gov/bis/ear/pdf/ccl7.pdf

:rolleyes: