Current hardware and your suggestions

blane64

I am new to this geocaching stuff, but am finding it addictive....

My current setup was actually purchased for automobile GPS, so may not be so hot for geocaching.

I have a Cingular 8525 (PocketPC phone) and a bluetooth GPS i-Blue 737, which uses the MTK chipset. I also use GPStuner and GPXsonar to manage my gpx files and guide me to the cache. I like the bluetooth GPS as it acquires fix quite rapidly, and I get excellent reception, commonly getting 8 satellites while sitting in my house. My limitation is that when I am walking slowly, my GPS unit does not give me reliable heading updates. I have to me moving around 4mph, which is a bit tough depending on terrain. So, I like the ability to go online on my cell phone to check the geocaching website, etc. I like being paperless, although that is not such a bit deal. I do not like having to practically RUN toward a cache to get an update. I look more than a little stupid running back and forth around a cache...

So, what I would like is a durable GPS unit that is handheld, and has an electronic compass that will give a reliable heading to the coordinates regardless of whether I am moving or not. I also don't want to lose much in regards to my GPS chipset as far as TTFF, and reliable performance with overhead obstructions, etc.

Give me you opinion...

BTW, I can afford $$$ but am reluctant to spend too much on what is a casual hobby at this time. I really don't care about color, bells and whistles...just performance.

Thanks