A little confused

canozzie

Ok I am fairly new to all of this and I have just purchased my first coin and will probably releasing it today Now I may be reading some of the forum posts wrong but the way that I am taking it is people are collecting and trading the coins. Now are they colecting them in the way of keeping them or is it in logs only. If people are collecting them and holding them well I am not really sure I want to release the coin I want it to travel. :D:(

Ok I am fairly new to all of this and I have just purchased my first coin and will probably releasing it today Now I may be reading some of the forum posts wrong but the way that I am taking it is people are collecting and trading the coins. Now are they colecting them in the way of keeping them or is it in logs only. If people are collecting them and holding them well I am not really sure I want to release the coin I want it to travel. :D:(

It seems that most coins don't travel very far and generally end up in someone's collection. You might consider drilling a hole in the coin or otherwise defacing it before letting it loose. This destroys the value and collectibility of the coin making it less desirable.

It seems that most coins don't travel very far and generally end up in someone's collection. You might consider drilling a hole in the coin or otherwise defacing it before letting it loose. This destroys the value and collectibility of the coin making it less desirable.

They still end up in someone's collection even if they have a mission?

There are a number of threads discussing geocoins in the wild. Like all travel bugs, geocoins are likely to dissappear someday, but most people that have released geocoins in the wild report significant success with thier traveling around. I've released over 75, and only a few have gone missing from a cache. Most of those were in caches that were muggled (which can and does happen to any traveller).