Newbie wants to get started

Guest Qman

Just read an article on geocaching this weekend and would like to give it a go but I have a basic question. I'll be using a Garmin IIIplus. Armed with the lat/long of the cache and whatever hints are available, how do I get started. Is there some way to load the lat/long into the GPS or do I just use the GPS in the field to navigate to the location?

Guest suntzu

You can manually input a "waypoint" into your gps, and use a "goto" type function, and the directional arrow will point you to where you need to go. Take a compass, so you can follow the bearings when you get close to the spot.

Guest KB6RG

quote:
Originally posted by Qman:

... Armed with the lat/long of the cache and whatever hints are available, how do I get started. ... do I just use the GPS in the field to navigate to the location?

I am new at this, too, so I hope it's not a case of "the blind leading the blind."

Have you visited the website for GeoCaching? That would be a good place to start. Read all the information that is linked to the Homepage. Enter your state or zip-code and you will be shown more Geocaches than you will have time to search for.

Then use your GPS receiver to give you the positioning once you are in the general vicinity of the cache you are seeking. Setting the Lat & Long into the unit, and then tracking into the cache may be a bit 'advanced' until you really get the hang of using a GPS receiver. That's my view of it. But I'm not using a Garmin GPS-III, so there may be more to be gained from this forum.

Experimenting is really the thing that I've found to help the most, as the GPS Ops Manual sure doesn't give many clues on GeoCaching, does it?

------------------

Bob -- KB6RG

on California's

Central Coast

N35°07.240' W120°37.300'

Guest leaper64

ok qman, here we go.

on the gps3+,

1. press "menu" two times, this will take you to the MAIN MENU.