Suggestion: Difficulty/Terrain Ratings

Guest Kurt in MI

Guest Kurt in MI

Here's a copy of a message I sent to contact@geocaching.com (with UBB code modifications on the http links):

First, I want to say I'm a newbie and I *like* the idea of Geocaching. I'm looking forward to stashing/seeking caches. icon_smile.gif

I am planning on placing my first cache but I'm not sure what ratings I should assign regarding difficulty and terrain.

I looked around the website (including the FAQ) and forums for a standard to measure against. Here are the only specs I found:

* The overall difficulty (1-5, 5 being the hardest)

* Terrain rating (1-5, 5 using climbing gear)

Please consider placing a detailed list (or link to a detailed list) on each of the following (or in the persistent menu bar on the left of the screen):

Hide a cache page

Seek a cache page

Details Report pages

The list could describe examples of difficulty and terrain for each of the levels, 1-5. Perhaps JPG or GIF images of examples would help as well. I bet some experienced Geocachers would be willing to help create such a list and , perhaps, offer to provide images too. I'll post a copy of this message in an appropriate forum.

Thanks for your attention to this message.

------------------

Best regards,

Kurt in MI

Track your US currency's travels too at Where's George?! icon_smile.gif

[This message has been edited by Kurt in MI (edited 04-04-2001).]

[This message has been edited by Kurt in MI (edited 04-04-2001).]

Guest kbraband

Here's some of the ratings rationale for the the caches we created.

For a cache that's wheelchair- and toddler-accessible, I gave the terrain a rating of "1".

For trails that go up steep hills and leave you a little winded, I gave a rating of "2.5".

I'm thinking of placing a cache on a small island in a river. I would rate that terrain as a "4".