help on coordinates

Guest Exaibachey

Guest Exaibachey

I am new to this and think I know the answer, but berfoe I do something stoopid, I figure it's better to ask than to miss finding a cache.

The example I am using is from GC29D, San Juan Hill in California. The coordinates are N 33* 54.812 W 117* 44.28

My question is about the W 44.28. My Garmnin GPS 12XL has a space for a third number entry. I am assuming the third space should just be intered as a 0

as in W 117* 44.280.

Thank you in advance for your help.

And, laughing, where is the degree key?? LOL

Brad

------------------

I used to think the world was flat. Now I know it's just crooked.

Guest cascade

Is there some way to check the calibration on your receiver? Maybe a website that lists the coord's for known locations or addresses?

[This message has been edited by cascade (edited 03-06-2001).]

Guest Mike_Teague

If your unit is computing a fix, it is good to go...

If you must test it, I guess you could go to a USGS monument that is also a GPS-verified site, and try to confirm it there... Make sure you are outputting the datum they surveyed it in though!

Guest MbassadorK

I just got my GPS unit (a Magellan GPS Companion for my Handspring Visor) and put a few of the southern California caches into my Visor.

My question is: several lines down in each description it says "Use Waypoint: _____" - what does this mean? is there some kind of universal naming scheme for waypoints that I'm not aware of? my GPS software will let me enter lat, long and alt, and set them as a waypoint, but I don't see anything for selecting a waypoint by any kind of name, such as GC29D.

Did that make sense? Am I just dense?

Thanks!

Guest bob_renner

GC29D Waypoint name devised by Jeremy.

GC = GeoCache

29D up to 4 digit hex number allowing

up to 64K different waypoint names

Assigned in a sequential manner.

Bob Renner

Guest MbassadorK

Got it! Thanks!!