What is proper etiquette?...and other ?'s

Guest DorkyDog

Guest DorkyDog

I'm very new to geocaching. I was just curious about proper geocaching etiquette? I recently found a cache at the exact moment a friendly couple was uncovering it. What should I have done? Also, what is considered fair trading? Any help on these questions or other important things would be great. Thanks!

Guest kernbob

Well for me , I know I always refer to 'Amy' when I have a question like this.

I'm refering to the "Amy Vanderbilt Complete Book of Etiquette".

Like some organizations have adopted the Roberts Rules of Order to maintain their dignity. I PROPOSE we adopt this wonderful book to be our collective guide to the unponderable questions in geocaching.

Learn to greet people nicely; answer in words ("Yes, thank you") instead of grunts ("Uh-Huh")

Play your radio or cassette player so softly that no one around you on the bus, on the beach or in the park will be bothered.

Be considerate of the performers in a theater or concert hall as well as of those sitting around you. No chewing-gum-smacking, rustling of programs, and rattling of gum and candy wrappersl

Give your seat on the bus to someone who needs it.

When you sneeze or cough, especially in close quarters on a crowded bus or in an elevator, do it into your handkerchief, with your face turned away from those closest to you. Always say "Excuse me please" afterward.

Don't try to cheat in a line.

Treat books with the greatest of respect; never mark them, and always return them promptly.

Never spit, pick your teeth, comb your hair, or fiddle with your nails in public.

Move through crowds carefully, paying attention not to bump anyone; apologize if you do bump someone.

Don't be boisterous with your friends; polite people are inconspicuous.

Don't write graffiti or deface public property.

Always place all your litter in the trash receptacles; never throw anything on the streets or leave it in cabs or on public transport.