tried out new eTrex Venture

Guest Cold Chuck

Guest Cold Chuck

My new gps just arrived earlier today. I promptly stabbed batteries in it and upgraded version 2.10 to 2.24 and took off for a seach of first cache. While enroute to the cache, I am a right handed person and not used to having important controls on "wrong side" of the Venture. Accuracy was 13 feet without WAAS. I havent tried WAAS setting yet. I wished Garmin would redesign the layout. Im tired of flipping though the pages to get what I wanted everytime I powered it on. Also, I planned to junk the serial interface cable in favor of Pfread cable. Another thing about the "click stick" or joy stick is that it looks awfully fragile (the lack of better word for it). I worry about it more than any other items. Since I am a newbie and I didnt have anything to compare against, I thought it offers the most bang for a buck anyone could ask for. Just my .02 cents on Venture.

------------------

Cold Chuck of Colorado

Guest Cold Chuck

Update on eTrex Venture testing. I finally got to test WAAS feature on the top of biggest hill in Colorado Springs. Nope. Zip. Glitch. I will try to get on the top of Pikes Peak and see if I get WAAS signal (14,000+ feet elevation). Will post it.

Accuracy is superb without WAAS. average reading was 13 to 7 feet! Still the click stick concerns me....

------------------

Cold Chuck of Colorado

Guest bob_renner

When you're trying to get WAAS to work make sure you have the unit in Normal mode and not Battery Save mode (and of course WAAS enabled).

Bob

Guest Cold Chuck

Of course, I checked the battery mode. I am not recieving any WAAS Satellite on the top of big big hill in Colorado Springs. But, I'll try it on a MOUNTAIN (Pikes Peak 14,000+ feet). Will let you know.

------------------

Cold Chuck of Colorado

Guest jeremy

Ok. Heard something interesting.