Guest Undecided

Hi there

I am fairly new to GPS and I am thinking of purchasing either an Emap

or a Vista/Legend.

At first I did a lot of research on the Vista/Legend option. I would

primarily be using the GPS for hiking/backpacking and tracing

waypoints and all those features that go with hiking etc. All the

features were there. All I had to do was figure out whether I wanted

to spring for the 8mb or 24mb memory between the two choices.

..then the choice of the eMap came up.

I like the bigger screen. It makes it more practical to use in a car.

This is cool if I travel around!

It has audible alarms

Extra memory can be added.

Its just as portable as the Vista/Legend

My questions to the board is (or for those that have used BOTH the

Emap and Legend/Vista):

Is an Emap just as good as the Legend/Vista for hiking purposes?

Is the resolution on the Emap not as good as the hiking-orientated

Legend/Vista?

I would like to hear arguments as to why I should get the emap over

the others or visa versa. I apologise if this topic has been

discussed before.

Thanks

Lawrence

Guest bob_renner

And don't forget the Garmin GPS76 and GPSMAP76. They're brand new. The complete specs aren't even available on the Garmin web site. Check out the other thread on this board about the GPSMAP76.

Bob

Guest mkral

Lawrence,

don't know if you already bought a unit, as this reply is pretty late, but FYI, the emap is not as sturdy of a unit for hiking. It is not waterproof, like the etrex's are, only splash proof, and it is not as solid. Check out the following link for info on the emap

http://joe.mehaffey.com/emaprevue.htm

Here is a snipet from the page "If you are looking for a full featured mapping GPS with ALL standard features for hiking,  boating, or flying use,  including being robust and waterproof,  you will want to look at  other models."

As it so happens, I am looking to unload my legend, if you're interested, check out the GPS garage sale forum.

Guest peter