Real-life comparison of GPS receivers.

Guest laurie

Well I am fairly new to this (have known about Geocaching since the start - but never actually did one). I am also very familiar with the nautical uses of GPS. OK - with that said...

After much research - searching the Net - reading posts etc. I have decided that what would be really interesting (an excuse for a group cache??) would be to gather as many different GPS units together in one place and run a series of tests to determine which is better under what circumstances.

All I have been able to find are Manufacturer specification comparison and some people's "gut feel" between different units. I would like to conduct a slightly more controlled test. Some things I was thinking were - actual timing of "cold" aquision (after unit is off for 6+ hours) timing of warm aquision. Functionality in the open, under light trees, heavy foliage, etc. If there is a surveyer that could verify the actual Lat/lon coords that would be great - or use a topo map and traditional methods to determine lat/lon of the test area.

I am up here in the North East so we have some interesting GPS type problems - *heavy* tree cover, humid (snow/rain) and lots of granite. And was wondering if a group of people would be interested in doing something like this.

What do you guys think???

Humm after looking through the forum breakdown by geography - maybe I should have said "New England"

(Never in a million years would have guessed that Virginia/DC/Maryland would be considered "North East" I have always considered them "East")

Ok, I guess the whole concept of a group of people in the same area of the country comparing GPS receivers is a lost idea.

I *have* checked out those websites been checking them for the last year+ but the reviews are very subjective - I thought it would be interesting to do a better test (and a great excuse to meet other like minded folks).