Native Symbian^3 geocaching app

filsed

Hello,

Is there any plan to release a native symbian^3 application for geocaching? iOS and Adroid apps are released and I think Nokia is still planning to ship 150 million symbian powered handsets in near future so there is definitely some potential for Groundspeak to make some extra cash :-)

Cheers,

Filip

I agree. I find it rather frustrating that I paid for the Geocache Navigator application on my S60V3 Nokia N82 and now that I have a Nokai N8 it is unsupported. I paid for a few months use. I contacted Trimble and was told to try the latest S60V5 version. It partly works but you are stuck on the compass screen as the other buttons do not work on the Symbian^3 operating system it seems.

Now I am not a coimputer programmer but surely the fact that it works, albeit a few buttons, would mean a simple tweak to get it working on an OS that, by all accounts, has sold millions already. I know S^3 is being phased out but the expectation is for millions more to be sold in the next few years. Surely the minimal effort involved will reap rewards?

trying to find an app for my nokia m8 to allow me to use geocaching from my phone as well as my gps

I've just released the first test versions of CacheMe which is also available for Symbian^3 from the CacheMe homepage.

Hi,

I just took a look at your app and would like to provide some feedback using it on the Nokia N8. Not sure if you have a way of doing so on your website but if you did I missed it :)

A few impressions in no particular order :

* I was not able to immediately find a way to log a cache as found when looking through the application. I have come from using Geocache Navigator and I really liked their implementation.

* It has become habit to scroll through things on my N8 by sliding my finger down the screen. When reading logs for a cache doing this highlights the text and does not scroll. This makes the app feel out of place on this device.