Garmin Quest

GreyPurrson

:antenna: Hello All!!!! Newbie here. Got the book, Idot's guide to Geocaching and now we are looking to buy our GPS unit. I am really leaning towards the Garmin Quest. I would love to know all the Pro's and Con's from you seasoned "Treasure Hunters" to help me make my decision on wether to buy this unit or not.

Thanks in advance for all your help!

Edited by GreyPurrson

I have the Quest 2, and overall I'm happy with it, although I have some big complaints.

For what do you plan to use it? Mainly geocaching?

If you're looking for a good geocaching unit, the Quest is probably not the way to go. You can find caches with it, but geocaching is not it's best attribute. The Quest is geared much more for driving use. When I cache, I typically use my Quest 2 to route me near the cache location, and then I use my other GPS to go find the cache.

Jamie

I have a Quest and I think it is an excellent unit for caching and other hand-held uses. It is definitely designed primarily for in-car navigation and it is great in that role. However, it is small, light, waterproof, easy to carry, read, and put in a pocket. When the off road routing option is selected, a navigation page with a compass and direction arrow is available for those who do not like working from a map. Reception is good with the flip-up antenna, but much better with an amplified external antenna, which also lets me keep signal lock and track recording with the Quest in my pocket. The built-in LiIon battery lasts a very long time.

There are better hand-held units for caching, but none that have voice prompts when used in a car, include the maps in the purchase price, or cost so little overall. The Quest is a great dual purpose GPS, and, in my opinion, the only good choice for a dual use unit as I think voice prompts are too valuable to miss for auto navigation and the compass page is important for caching. The external antenna is important, but cheap and easy to use.

Appletree,