Adopting Caches

seikku

I've sent email to two nordic reviewers and haven't got answers, so could someone here in forum please tell me what to do for I'm not good with waiting answers that propably never comes.

My problems are two caches. Other one I want to adopt for I have done maintenance there and the owner does not seem to be interested of this hobby anymore. The other is my own cache and I want to give it to the man who maintains it and who has hidden the cache with me.

I've seen caches that have been adopted but Lewa Nuva and Tahu Nuva neither answers to me how to do it. What should I do? Wait, wait, wait the whole summer or contact someone else (who?)?

contact@geocaching.com is the ticket. Tell them the cache # (or provide a link) and what steps you have taken to try and contact the owner.

Once they confirm it's abandoned you may be able to adopt the cache. It could be your approvers are in the middle of attempting to contact the owners. This site does give the owners quite some time to repond (as they should in case i'm on vacation for a month).

When I adopted a cache, I first asked received an email from the original hider who said it was ok for me to adopt the cache. Then I sent email to contact@geocaching.com where I explained the situation in detail, and I also included the original owner's email with mine. If my memory serves me right, the cache reviewers were not (at least that time - March 2004) able to transfer the cache ownerships; instead someone at Groundspeak had to do it.

Anyway, despite the notorious slowness (at least at that time) of contact@geocaching.com, I got a reply during the same day where someone called 'Nate' from Groundspeak informed me that the cache ownership has been transferred to my account.

Edit: Ok, RK told the same thing more briefly and effectively. Thanks. :P

Edited by Divine