eTrek legend

Guest relichound

Guest relichound

I am just getting started in this hobby. I had posted before that I had a Lowrance GM100. I returned that unit and purchased a eTrek legend. I like the more compact size. Can anyone give me any input on the legend? How does it perform in the woods?

Thanks,

Jerry

Guest tecmage

Hi,

We have a Legend. You're right about the compactness. We've had it a few months now. It does suck the batteries dry if you use the compass feature. We started using rechargable batteries and that has made the situation better.

Since this is the only unit we've owned, I can't speak to the reception versus other units. It's probably no better than the other Garmins in the Etrex line. The benefit for us is the ability to view and load maps. Tracy and myself went on a cache hunt in Kansas City memorial day weekend and it was nice to have the map of KC with the caches listed.

Richard

Guest WaylandersMA

quote:
Originally posted by tecmage:

Hi,

It does suck the batteries dry if you use the compass feature.

??? Compass feature on eTrex Legend eats batteries? Is your eTrex grey? Then it's a Summit with a compass that eats batteries. If it is blue, it is a Legend, no compass.

Paul

Guest WaylandersMA

Jerry,

I got the blue Legend too. It's perfect for geocaching. Go to campmor.com and type "compass" into search. Get a decent compass and you're all set.

You can get a nice Brunton 8097 for $35.

The compass is handy when you get close to the cache.

Paul

Paul

Guest relichound

Thanks for the info Paul. I got out a little with it today and it seems to be a awesome little receiver. I am a avid relic and fossil hunter but really want to get into geocaching. Any help you could give me would be helpful.

Jerry

Guest Nemesis

quote:
Originally posted by WaylandersMA:

Is your eTrex grey? Then it's a Summit with a compass that eats batteries.