"Another" newbie question...

Team MJDJ

...is it possible to view MAPS on a Garmin eTrex Venture?

I can find nothing in the manual regarding this.

How does one acquire the "maps"? WHat software is used to load these maps into the GPS?

I trust that these questions will be answered as quickly and accurately as my last few...

Thanks in advance...

I am new to this as well and I am also considering getting a Garmin eTrex Venture. It will be my very first unit and I don't really feel like spending more money on extra features I don't really know if I will use. Since I also happen to have a handheld computer (PalmOS device) I will most likely connect my gps unit to it and then I can diplay a live map location on my handheld with the help of mapping software like Mapopolis. At least that is my plan. icon_smile.gif I am hoping to pick up a gps receiver sometime during this week and go on my first cache hunt this weekend!

quote:
Originally posted by Faye Williamson:

I thought i read that it had "worldwide city database." i am not sure what that is. I thought it was maps.

All the city database does is put a dot on your map screen for larger cities. If you zoom way out to a wide view, it will show you where your waypoint is in relation to major cities. Not a really useful feature, for me.

Don't get me wrong, I love my Etrex Venture. It has a better display than the basic yellow Etrex, and comes with the PC serial cable. I have used mine hiking and canoeing, in addition to geocaching, and it works just fine for me. I sometimes bring a (paper) topo map, but usually for geocaching the Venture works fine.

Hope this helps,

Dave_W6DPS

(Still a newbie myself!) icon_rolleyes.gif

My two cents worth, refunds available on request. (US funds only)