Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ke5bsz

Ham Radio

:rolleyes: what privliges do I have if I am a tech. on Ham Radio. I am doing geocaching at Field Day '05 for my dad,n5mij

Thanks

Megan

ke5bsz

You are fully qualified to use a GPS receiver. :rolleyes:

In all seriousness, I have no idea. I'm under the Canadian rules. FWIW, we have Basic and Advanced qualifications. Advanced have more privelidges but either license needs to have Morse added to it to allow transmission below 30MHz.

73 de -.-. --- ..- .--. .- .-. .- -. --. ..- ...

You have full privileges from VHF and above (70 cm, 1.25 m, 2m, 6m). You can do microwave and aprs. You can also do beacon and repeater.

10 meter and beyond are not allowed at the Tech level.

Uhm.... Isn't this something you needed to know to actually GET your tech ticket?

Uhm.... Isn't this something you needed to know to actually GET your tech ticket?

Yes, I believe that the questions on the exam actually address that, along with proper frequency shift, etc.

Also, it would depend on who the control operator is. If it's you, you're allowed on the VHF/UHF bands... but if there's someone with a higher class, you're allowed to operate on those bands, provided that the control operator is present and in control of the station.

Is there a big difference between the US Tech/General/extra and the Canadian Basic/Advanced? I guess, I am wondering from a getting your license standpoint.

I am in Canada, and would like to get my Basic. I just picked up 'HAM Radio for Dummies' book (and I am only on page 20), but it's written for the US licence.

Thanks.

Not sure how the licenses stack up.

In the US, the tech is really pretty easy to get. General is harder material (somewhat) and CW is required for passage. Extra is much more detailed than the General license but there is no longer a higher CW requirement for Extra.