Talking To Hams About Geocaching

bigredmed
Followers 2

Hi, I'm fairly new to geocaching and am a ham radio operator. I think it would be a good idea to use geocaching as a subject for a ham club meeting. A lot of people we know get interested when you tell them you've been geocaching but don't know how to go about it. GPS units are the big thing now and can be used in other ventures such as hiking in the woods. We have used it and it has helped us out many a time. We've even tracked waypoints in the car on trips. Just thought I would put my two cents in! cponak@carolina.rr.com :huh:

Good luck - I think you'll need it. I've had no success in getting any of my ham friends interested in the hobby. Get ready for the "What's the point?" type of questions. I hate to say it, but a lot of hams are either too lazy or their scope of interests so narrow there's no room for Geocaching. There are some amateurs into Geocaching but the hobbies aren't that similar.

73 de -.-. .-

I have been asked to talk to our local Ham radio club about geocaching. Anyone do something like this? Any tips?

I did a program on GPS system and geocaching. Most people and hams know what GPS is but I started with the GPS system, how it works when it started, when selectivity was turned off. Then I talked about geocaching and some of the caches I did.

I believe one ham started geocaching after my talk.

If you are trying to convert people to it then I would advise against trying it but it you want to talk about another radio device that gives you enjoyment then do it.

GPS has proved useful for local hams here. Several years ago there was a cross country run where hams manned the route and checkpoints. In a somewhat remote area of the race a runner fell and tumbled some distance down a steep hill and was seriously injured enough that the LifeFlight Helecopter was requested to remove him.