Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ubievol

Hello And A Geocaching/aprs Question ??

my wife and i have developed an interest in geocaching. i'm also an amateur radio operator. i'm here trying to get an idea of how others integrate ham radio with geocaching. it seems like APRS may play a role, but i'm not sure why one would want to transmit their location unless working an event like a marathon race or something.

sorry if this sounds like i need to read "APRS for dummies" but i appreciate any input!

I'm looking to get started on APRS myself, though really only for the coolness factor. I haven't quite figured out how it would tie into geocaching, unless you could make your vechicle a mobile cache that somehow you could manage to get an approver to allow. Otherwise I thought it was a neat way to show your friends/family/geocaching people where you are at any given instance.

Safety wise it'd be a nice thing for me to have. Say I go solo caching for a day, I bring my trusty HT and the interface to the GPS (looking at ordering tiny trak for that, see another thread in here for the link), every park I stop at I transmit my coordinates via the link to the HT, and my location gets updated on the APRS network. I just tell my friends/family to check my location out on either a page I make up on my website, or find a way to directly link them to findu.com so they can see where I last updated my position. That way if the unthinkable happens, at least they knew where I was at my last transmission.

thanks for the reply!

yes i thought of the safety aspect, but figured that having an HT along would be about the same as one could call for help and not have to be concerned about having connecting cables and other gear to run APRS.

coolness factor definitely ranks high!

WB4PNE

Well true, coolness factor is probably one of the bigger things.