Control Work

GEO*Trailblazer 1

I was just wondering how many of us have gone into checking out the Control for GPS guidance.

That is having control points you frequent to see how close your readings are each day.

I have been doing it for about 10 years and have slowly improved my math and methods.

I just had to find out for myself,how close you can get on a "Mean average".

When selective availability was turned on I used to have to calculate each day the random error inherent in the system,which has led me to this discussion.

My First Mapping project.

6dc21533-e695-4969-a36f-82efe60fc075.jpg

1ec30b19-7c23-4765-8609-5ccbff3db74f.jpg

I use the tracking screen of the GPSr. On the 120 ft scale, I can see how wide my N-S tracks and E-W tracks are over the same routes for 20-30 times. Surpisingly, most tracks are +/- 50 feet, but I find the locations of highways and interstates not tracking correctly. I blame that on the GPSr programming that whoever drew the map did not have accurate location.

Geo,

Most all GPS download ephemeris data from the satellites which is corrected by the USAF at Schriver AFB near Colorado Springs Colorado. They will issue notices if there are Satellites are off the air or outages will affect accuracy but this is rare, maybe a few times a year. We can overcome the outages if we have time to wait and it is usually not enough to matter for most purposes. It may matter if you are trying to do something very accurate at say 600 MPH if you know what I mean... This ephemeris data will tell the GPS where all the birds are which are and are not available in the constellation, What Coordinated Universal time is, all the synchronizing timing etc, all so the radio triangulation can happen...