Sign in to follow this  
Followers 9
Smartest Artist

What Licence Do You Have

I also have the Tech

-----------------------------------------

Somerset Co, Pa, USA

Edited by xt

Technician. Passed the General exam weekend before last, so Now I'm studying up for the code test. 73... Jeff, KI4HHL

I got my Extra (#16) on March 14, 1952 in the Chicago FCC office. My call at that time was W9ZKU. Since then I have had K0MEE and K7KLV. I have had W7WT since 1970 when they allowed Extra Class with 20 years or so the opportunity to get a two letter call. 73 Dick, W7WT Bremerton, WA

Edited by W7WT

Extra......

Had the Advance for a number of years and decided to study for the CW test after doing the theory exam for the heck of it. I took an old NEC laptop with SuperMorse on the road and just let it run random CW characters for hours at a time. This conditioned me to the faster speeds. The next morning after a long trip from eastern MA to home, I passed the 20 WPM.

The bad news is that I rarely have time for the HF bands :ph34r: .

It is actually recommended that you 'practice' at higher speeds so that you become 'in tune' with the sound of the code. When I tried i used a 20wpm code with extra space between the letters to allow me to 'hear' the code. It seemed to sink in OK. I just never got around to take the test as I never had any desire to use more than the No-Code Tech offered. (although I did pass the General test)

Seventy-Three, November One Lima Yankee Delta

(anyone else discover themselves giving their call in a casual conversation after a long session on the radio?)

General.

bought the extra book twice now and keep losing interest. first tome was the arrl extra which expired, now i have a gordon west book here on my desk in front of me and im fine untill i get to the circuit componets and practical circuits, everything else im fine with.

this book is good untill 2006 though in case i get that bug again..hehe

Chris - KF6JAX