1st Find Question!

geographer-pam

Hi to all!

I'm a newbie here...joined and have been reading...and have ordered the caching books etc. I have a Garmin Streetpilot III in my car and am going to go get a handheld (probably ETREX) to have while searching. I'm ready to go make my first find and I have a question...would you consider a "virtual" cache a "worthy" first find or would you want to actually go find a "real" cache? Or does it matter? Since I'm single and female, I'm a little leery of going out to find a hidden cache by myself until I know a little bit more and have more experience :P but I'm willing to wait to make that first find until I have good daylight etc if that would be best. Ok, I think I'm rambling here! lol

Ok, next question...(you didn't think I'd stop with one, did you?) How is it best to meet other cachers in my area? I could do a search and send an email...is that the best way? I didn't know if unsolicited emails to find others were acceptable...I don't want to break rules, etc. Any help finding others in my area would be greatly appreciated! I'd love to learn more from experienced people that I could meet face-to-face (although I have to say I'm learning a LOT from these forums!)

Ok, two's my limit FOR NOW! I'm quite sure I'll have more! TIA for the help!

pam :P

Traditional or virtual... I like them both, so to be honest, it wouldn't matter to me. I would say, look around your area for some 1/1 or so 'caches and read the descriptions and see what appeals to you. I have done some virts that were way harder than a lot of traditionals...

As for meeting people.. best way I would suggest is post a note in your regional forum, or see if there is a local group that you could get in touch with. If you are living in a larger center, there may well be even 'caches... a good chance to meet others!

Welcome to the obsession! :P

Hey Pam, Welcome to geocaching, your life will never be the same.