Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Bilder

Good Starter Rig

I am studying for the technician exam in two weeks. I tried the practice tests cold turkey and can score 70% with no study. I am sure the "Now You're Talking" book will give me the knowlege I need to pass with ease.

I am starting to save up for a radio. I will not have much money for starting out and was wondering what you all would advise for a good starter unit. I am thinking a handheld so I can take it around with me.

What brands/models are good for starters? Any that I should avoid?

Thanks for the tips.

What brands/models are good for starters?  Any that I should avoid?

Thanks for the tips.

Glad to hear your studying is going so well. You'll have your license in no time.

When I first got my ticket in 1995, my first radio was a Radio Shack HTX-212 mobile (non-handheld) unit. It worked fine, but was a bit limiting in that it was only portable if you had a 12-volt supply to use with it.

When I got back into ham radio in January of last year, I bought a Yaesu VX-5r handheld tribander. Almost immediately, I was kicking myself for not going the HT route at the outset. Sure you don't get the same kind of power with an HT that you do with a mobile or base unit, but the convenience and portability more than make up for it.

The 2 meter and 440 MHz bands are very handy, with the wide-band receive being nice to have for listening to out-of-band signals (I work at a TV station and use mine to listen to the station's audio while on dinner break so I'll know if I need to get back in a hurry). I've only used the 6-meter capability a few times (not much activity here), but from what I've done with it, it works fine.