Yep...another Noob Question

Whizzn

Hi All;

I'm new to geocaching. When reading the forum, I see numerous mentions of archived caches. I've searched the various FAQ's for a definition of this and can't find it.

It appears to be caches that are not any good (for some reason). If a cache is archived, does that mean that I couldn't look those up and still go there if I wanted too?

If a cache is bad and is archived, why wouldn't it just be deleted from the web site?

Thanks in advance for your time in teaching me about this fun sport.

Whizzn

An archived cache is "stricken through" with a line through the name, and then it disappears from the list. I archived one so that I could change it into a multi-cache, and both appear on my personal list, but the archived one is stricken. Both count toward my total # of caches. Then I learned to contact the approver at the bottom of the page, and he changed another one for me into a multi-cache so I never archived that one.

Archived caches, for a few days, can be visited, but the owner is to remove the cache. It probably was archived due to lack of attention, and that may mean that someone else will be asked to remove it. If it is archived because of a rule violation, like "private property," then the owner can correct that. It can be unarchived.

Yes you could go there if you wanted to but, more than likely, the cache won't be there. Caches get archived for a variety of reasons, such as the cache was stolen, the owner found out it was on private property and was asked to remove it, the cache is no longer in a safe area, the cache owner quit the game, etc.