Sign in to follow this  
Followers 4
Insp Gadget

Kenwood Th-d7ag

Has anyone used this radio? I was reading a bit about it and really like the idea that it automatically transmits my position.

just an fyi - you'll need to attach it to a GPSr to in order to do this. It doesn't have any gps capabilities built in, just the interface necessary

Yes, I was aware of this, but thanks for pointing it out. I should have been clearer in my original post.

Are there any other radios like this Kenwood that do basically the same thing? I'm just starting out, but it looks like Kenwood is a lot more expensive than the other brands.

nope, Kenwood is the only one with built in TNC that I'm aware of. They have the handheld you pointed out and a mobile.

Otherwise, you're looking at adding hardware to a ham/gps setup. The tiny trak is quite small http://www.byonics.com/tinytrak/ and lets you do basically the same thing

Edited by _mo_

Alinco has mobile rigs with TNCs built-in, both single and dual band.

Alinco

You will find these to be less expensive than Kenwood.

Alinco has mobile rigs with TNCs built-in, both single and dual band.

Alinco

You will find these to be less expensive than Kenwood.

Do they have an APRS ready HT?

I only found two mobiles that you could equip with an optional module. Using AES prices as reference, the single band DR-135T is cheaper but got a lower rating on eHam. The Dual band DR-620 came within $25 but the Kenwood seems to have a much better display in that it can do some basic APRS without an external computer.

At Field Day, this was on my list of topics to get Elmered on.

The Kenwoods are the only brand that the APRS people here use. If you talk with many of them, they like the radios, but they don't like the mobile unit.