Sign in to follow this  
Followers 1
Alan2

Why Is Everyone On Channel 1?

I just started using my Talkabout and it was for business. COntractors mainly. Everyone was on channel 1 wouldn't be so bad except half the time we were picking up Reggae music and all sorts of junk. When I suggested we all switch to another channel, everyone looked at me like I had two heads.

It appears that channel 1 is a "standard" that people are afraid to get off. Was this a coincidence or is that commonaround the country?

tks Alan

Ok, that makes sense-laziness.

I notice Chanel 1 is FRS/GMRS. My Talkabout T5950 says Channel 1-7 and 15-22 are 1 watt all FRS/FMRS. Does that mean I'm transmoitting FMRS or FRS and can I change my tranmission so I'm at 1/2 watt and don't need FMRS license? Tks Alan

Is it legal to use a freq in the FRS for business related communications? I was under the impression it wasn't, but I'm no expert.

Is it legal to use a freq in the FRS for business related communications?  I was under the impression it wasn't, but I'm no expert.

Whether legal or not, it doesn't seem to stop anyone from using whatever channel they like for whatever purpose they like. Every day (even as I type this), our nearby McD's uses FRS channel 8 for their drive-thru (467.5625 MHz - not a GMRS shared frequency), with someone out at the curb using off-the-shelf FRS radios to relay orders. This isn't a temporary stand-in for their regular drive-thru intercom, which works fine, but something they do every day at lunchtime. After the rush dies down, they switch back to regular intercom use (on the commercial frequencies they have been assigned to use).

I'm not endorsing or condoning activities that violate the spirit and/or body of the rules, but FRS/GMRS seems to be about as heavily patrolled as CB - which is to say that it isn't.