Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
bigredmed

Net Effectiveness

I am going to be participating in a Ham net in support of a couple of charity bike races this weekend. As you know, I am a new operator and this will be my first Net that I participated in rather than just listened to. On Saturday, I will be working with an experienced Ham who has done these many times before. On Sunday, I will likely be on my own.

Any advice or tips?

"Don't speak unless spoken to"

is a good net-mantra.

Net-Ops should poll the stations every so often to make sure that everyone is awake.

Obviously if you see a biker take a header you should call in.

If you need to leave your position, notify Net-Ops.

I do several nets like this a year for various races. I'm sure you will pick up what you need

to know on that first day while stationed with the experienced operator, but here are a few ideas.

Your lead for the net should communicate to everyone an operations (ops) plan. This

plan should include frequencies to be used (and backup frequencies), what traffic is required from each station, times each station are expected to be open, etc. If you would like to see a sample of the plan we use just drop me a note.

I've done some races where each station just called in the first runner (male/female), and then when the last runner comes through. Other races we called in each runner (in batches) to net control. Of course any emergencies would be radioed in immediately. We've been fortunate to only have a very few emergencies on these events. Most traffic is of the form, "Can station 2 get more ice/water/Gatorade?". "Station 2 what time did runner 4 pass through?" etc.