Sign in to follow this  
Followers 1
HowardDouglas

Yaesu Vx-5r Vs. Vx-7r

I spoke to a rep today from Yaesu and he told me to go with a 5R since I am a newbie and will be getting only my tech license first. He said the 7R has many confusing functions that I don't need right away and it is a bit more waterproof than the 5R. He also said I will not outgrow the 5R. Does anyone have the VX-5R or VX-7R? Is the 7R too difficult for a beginner? Thanks!

I have the 5R, and I'm also a "newbie" (tech license). Other than it being a little hard to program without the software/cable, I have no problems using and figuring it out.

I can't do a real comparison, but I do wish the 5R had the dual recieve.

check the reviews over at eham.com. and post this question over there. You'll get tons of good feedback.

and as for having too many functions - that's like having too much money in the bank. B)

For a number of reasons I do not use either.

Look back in this area for threads named

WHAT DO YOU USE

WHAT DO YOU USE pt-II

WHAT DO YOU USE pt-III

Lots of good info on a number of radios. I strongly recommend you get something with compatable batteries, or be prepared to haul several kinds of spares.

JMHO - YMMV.

I use a VX-7R and I wrote a review of it on eHam.net ... it's a good radio with quad band coverage, but it's definitely an advanced radio... probably the most advanced HT on the market. Either way, that doesn't necessarily mean it's bad for new hams ... so what if you're a technician? You're licensed to work every band this radio offers (6m, 2m, 70cm, 220). The VX-7R is great if you're outdoors a lot, or want a rugged radio to take hiking/geocaching. The only caveat -- if you're technically challenged/confused when it comes to electronic devices, this radio probably isn't for you. If you're an electronics whiz, go for it... you won't be sorry.

My $0.02

//N1ZPP

I have to put in my plug for the Kenwood TH-F6A. Full power on 220, nice menu. Works well.