Starting Geocache in a New Country - Suggestions

Guest ToShIvA

Guest ToShIvA

First of all, Hi... I'm new to this... I think it is really fun and I'm planning to start it in my country (Dominican Republic, in the Caribbean)... Well, I have 3 caches planned already, and one of them is going to be at one of the only 3 degree Confluences in my country.... Before I can Start start I need to hide some caches, I'm thinking about 8 or something so I can motivate people out here.... Another problem that I have is that our native language is Spanish, and everything out here in the page is in English, so if someone doesn't knows english (wich many people don't) it is going to be pretty hard to them, so I plan on making a Geocaching Home Page in Spanish, parallel to this one (of course, with your permission Jeremy)...

Actually, this seems pretty hard for just one person, but I'll try to be ready for late march - early april... since I have to hide many caches, it's going to take up long....

Now... I would appreciate any suggestions, I'm burning my brain, and I guess that the help of all of you out there that know about this can help me.... Thanks a lot, and sorry for taking up your time....

Orlando....

Guest cache_ninja

hey, welcome

once you get some caches hidden, a story in a press can really help alot in terms of getting other people involved. its a pretty interesting topic, so its not hard to pitch it to them. as far as the language barrier, that more difficult, but if you just create a simple geocaching page for DR, listing the caches in both languges, just to begin with, thats a great start. it can evolve and get more elaborate as stuff progresses. when 'caching started herein the US the url was more more simple, and it was still jst as fun.

c/n

[This message has been edited by cache_ninja (edited 02-05-2001).]

et one up for you. The benefit of having me host is I will eventually be able to update your site with new caches as they are added to geocaching.com