Help On A Used Gps

I apologize if this has been beaten to death but a search didn't get me the results I was looking for.

I'm new to this and have been watching Ebay for used units for quite some time. I've seen several that were a couple of years old and wondered if they were worth looking at. The use will be limited to geocaching, hiking, hunting and fishing. The units I've been watching are Magellan 300, 315, 2000, 2000XL and 3000. I've tried to find reviews of these on the net but since most of the reviews are as old as the units I'm not geting much. Basically what I'm asking is will any of these units serve for what I am doing? Are there any units I should stay away from? Would I just be better off and spend the extra $50 and get an Etrex or something comparable?

Thank in advance!

Rich

I can comment on the 315. I have one that I don't really use. It turned into a backup for my Meridian Gold. The 315 is a decent unit overall. It feels very solid, and well built. The actual LCD interface looks a bit outdated, compared to the newer units. Even the Meridian Gold, which is somewhat "old" also, looks a thousand times better, and is somewhat easier to navigate the menus.

Overall though, for caching use, a 315 will work just fine. The antenna is great, and it's got the little arrow to point you to the cache. you can use a computer interface as well, to load in coords. It will hold the name of the cache, as well as the GCXXXX number, which is very helpful. It seems to have good battery life. If you are looking for a basic unit, this will do you fine, if the price is right. For a used one in great condition, I wouldnt pay more than 50 bucks. For a brand new one, maybe around 75, you can find them that cheap.