Travel Bug Hotels

bigredmed

I have been geocaching since 2002. When I started, travel bug hotels existed in only a couple of places, usually near airports, and were real caches that were called travel bug hotels as the intent was to offer bug holders a convenient way to drop them where they might go travelling a long way.

One of my first caches was not an official TB hotel, but functioned like that given its proximity to a number of tourist attractions and the interstate. It was, and it remains a real geocache.

The amazing thing is how fast and how far the concept has morphed from being a means of helping get travel bugs to really move into a means of trapping travel bugs and blocking the movement of these bugs. For the life of me, I can't understand why.

We are generally nice people (the ones I have had the pleasure to meet.) We are all reasonably well educated, and literate enough to read simple instructions, yet we don't follow them. We are nice to each other, yet there appears to be an element of antisocial geocachers that seem to really get their freak on by messing with other people's hobby.

Perhaps, in a more insightful philosophical moment, some inspiration would come to me to explain this rapid transform, but no such luck yet.

My thoughts on this? The proliferation of big bug grabbers resulted in a few people holding onto many many bugs. A good way to dump the bugs is to start a hotel, with all your collected (captive) bugs in it. Problem is, in a cache dense area (like mine)

there ends up being several/many big bug holders, resulting in many bug hotels - all holding many many bugs with little hope of going anywhere (because the other big holders have already seen all these bugs, wont bother to go get them)

"Restocking" the hotels is also found in this situation. (aka-dumping off more captives)

Im not quite sure I understand pto's post. But Im also not in real cache/cacher rich place...