More software questions..

Guest cleenjeep

Guest cleenjeep

Okay, I have gone through some recent posts, but I still have questions about software! Which is the most popular for cachers to use, who use simple GPS units, like my GPS 12? I just need something to work on my computer and with the data wire to the unit. I hope to make it easier to load waypoints into my garmin. I am a newbie, and it is a pain for me to enter them in manually, I usually forget and have to reference the manual!

Also, I am not ready to plunk down a lot of change for software, so the cheap to free suggestions are best. I hope to find something in the latter!

Michael

------------------

Webmaster and List Admin for Southern Michigan Rockcrawlers

Personal Site is Cleenjeep's Site

Guest topografix

You should pick the one that fits your purpose. EasyGPS (http://www.easygps.com) is free, but it only handles waypoints and routes.

PanTerra (http://www.topografix.com) is $29.95, and handles all your GPS data. PanTerra gives you access to over a million waypoints, and adds a bunch of powerful tools that are worth the price alone. For instance, you can plan a driving route on MapBlast, import the HTML into PanTerra, and download all the turns to your GPS, along with all the TopoGrafix waypoints along the way. That feature alone gives the basic $100 eTrex a point-to-point driving solution that rivals a $500 GPS.

EasyGPS and PanTerra share the same file format, so you can start with EasyGPS and upgrade to PanTerra when you need it.

Let me know what you think. I wrote both programs, and most of the good ideas came from user suggestions!

- Dan Foster

TopoGrafix

http://www.topografix.com

Guest cleenjeep

I started using panterra, and it is great. I had some trouble in the beginning, but realized I had waypoint+ running in the background. I like this much more. I dont know how to use the map thing yet, but that sounds really good. Do you have directions on how to do that?

Michael