What Is "flaming"

This post is intended to be serious.

I am a relative newbie to forums like this and I am learning "the hard way" how it works. For instance, I have learned that humor and seriousness don't mix well on the same post and things posted as humor will be taken seriously and things posted seriously will be read as sarcastic. I have come to the conclusion that the differentiation must be made ABUNDANTLY clear if one is not to be misunderstood.

(I am stating this as background for my question to show that it is coming from my attempts to understand a new (to me) communication medium. I realize the opening paragraph is off-topic and I am willing to bet that this post gets labelled "trolling" or "posting to inflame" even though its not intend that way.)

Where do we draw the line on "flaming"? I have seen posts labelled as flaming when they just stated the obvious.

Is pointing out an error or misinformation given in a post "flaming"?

Is pointing out an irregularity "flaming"?

Is pointing out a logical flaw "flaming"?

In short, is it "flaming" to criticize another?

It was my understanding that it is only "flaming" when it is an unnecessary "dig" aimed at a personal trait of the poster.

Do we call "flaming" too often on the board?

OK now see theres something else I dont understand.

Now that i look like a total fool for not clicking the link before I responded.

Why did my search not turn up the post on 1-03?

My search results brought up the one I cited as the earliest of my posts.

Do you have a secret stash of old posts that I cannot find in a search?

I knew i had more to learn.

(edit)

So now I search again and find it wazzup with that?

Edited by ChurchCampDave

Simply put, flaming in billboards/forums/notes is to express an anger at some perceived idiocy either directly or indirectly at the individual(s) that pressed the wrong buttons at the wrong time.