Sign in to follow this  
Followers 2
PhantomSniffer

New To Gps And Ham

Hello Airwave masters,

I am new to HAM radios and I just bought my first GPS yesterday and completed my first GeoCache today! While reading up on all this... I found something else I always wanted to get into and learn how is done... HAM Radios.

Currently I own two CB's a Bearcat scanner and an 800Mhz scanner. I have done research on how they all work and the tips/tricks to both. I want to go higher and get into HAM radios... Can someone direct in the right direction to go about on all this... Good recommendations on HAM Radio and equipment, recomended places to get it, Tips on resource information regaurding HAM radios, and an estimated cost including FCC licensing... I couldn't get a right answer on their website on how much fees were and how to go about doing it. Also, the FCC licensing test... Are they difficult?

I would appreciate any information that could be given... I want to really get into this stuff....

Also on the GPS part, any good resources there? I have a Dell Axim and found a few programs to help on part of GeoCaching.

Thanks everyone for your time on reading this.

Justin Dunsworth

One site should answer most of your questions:

WWW.ARRL.ORG

This is the site of the American Radio Relay Leauge. They are probably the largest organization in the US of licensed radio amatures.

Licensing is easier than ever. The entry level licence, no-code technician is a fairly easy multiple choice test that can be taken at many different locations. The FCC no longer gives the tests, but has created pools of Volunteer Examiners, fellow Hams that will give the tests. The licence itself is free, the cost of administering the test, etc., will run about $5.00.