Jump to content

Does A Travel Bug Stay Listed With Your Cache?


team walkingsticks

Recommended Posts

I placed my first travel bug today in a cache that I own. I activated it (but didn't log it) before I placed it in the cache. Then I immediately went out to place the TB in my cache. By the time I got home again after placing it, someone had since been to my cache, picked up my travel bug, and logged the find, before I ever logged it. My TB's name is The Moleinator, and was placed in the cache, "Sherman's End".

 

My question is, will there be somewhere on my cache page (not my TB page) where it shows I placed a travel bug there, or that a travel bug BEGAN at this cache? I thought I saw another cache page recently that said something about that on it. Mine does not show anything like this.

 

This is not to be confused with the thing on a cache page that shows a TB is currently in a cache. I am assuming that disappears whenever the TB is logged by someone as being picked up from the cache.

 

I am asking about something that stays permanently on your own cache page, once you place a TB in it, regardless of whether it stays there, or is picked up.

 

I was just looking at someone else's cache log page and it says, near the right hand corner, Travel Bug seen in cache (Names the bug), along with "What is a Travel Bug" and "View Bug History". Mine doesn't have all that fun stuff!

Edited by team walkingsticks
Link to comment

Because you didn't log your bug into the cache before someone retrieved it, it was never officially in the cache, so it's not going to be in the cache's history, as Lazyboy & Mitey Mite wrote.

 

You could ask the person who grabbed it to delete their log entry, then you grab it back, then place it in the cache, then they retrieve it and it's on it's merry way again. Something like that. Email and timing.

Link to comment
You could ask the person who grabbed it to delete their log entry, then you grab it back, then place it in the cache, then they retrieve it and it's on it's merry way again. Something like that. Email and timing.

Do you mean that if and after they delete the log entry, I have to get it back (physically), then (physically) put it back in my cache, then they have to (physically) go and get it again? Or, can this all be done in theory only...you know by computer like.

I happen to know the cachers that got my TB and I am pretty sure they haven't placed it anywhere else yet. Thanks for the help.

Link to comment
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
×
×
  • Create New...