"one Time Find" Caching

Imalookin

I am rather new at Geocaching and I am slowly learning some great guidelines. From what I have learned thus far, every cache is maintained by a specific person. I am currently planning on setting up a few in my area.

But, my question is....

Is there any protocol for setting up an unwatched cache?

My personal reason for this question is that I enjoy road trips that I rarely repeat. But I would really enjoy setting some caches along the way.

Could a system of "One Time Find" caching be set up? Maybe provide special markings on the website posting and emphasis the need for the finder to remove the entire content of the cache and that the cach must be marked as "Found and Removed" on the website ASAP? These types of caches would be useless for log books. But they would still be good for starting hitchhikers. And they might make for more interesting locations.

I can see a problem that some of this type cache may not even be sought or found and therefore provide for some caches to be abandoned. :P

Though this issue has probably been tried and tested...hense the agreed status thus far that all caches must be managed. But since it is still a fairly new sport and we have many a smart :P person involved, I was hoping there might be some brainstorming. Looking forward to any form of feedback. Thanks.

Check the guidelines for hiding a cache and the Listing Requirements. That'll be a great place for you to start.

What you're describing has been called a "Vacation Cache" and they're no longer approved. You really need to be available and responsible for your cache. Also, the listing requirements state, "When you report a cache on the Geocaching.com web site, geocachers should (and will) expect the cache to be there for a realistic and extended period of time. "