What compelled you to buy your GPS?

What I'm looking for is the real reason you even considered buying the GPS? What made you think... I wish I had one right now?

Was it survivalism?

Was it finding your way in?

Was it finding your way back out?

What's your story?

==========================================

I'll start off with mine

==========================================

The real reason why I'm into GEOCaching, and why I am studying my unit as carefully as I am...

A few months back, my daughter and I noted the gross inaccuracy of a particular trail map we were using due largely in part to mother nature, and trail maintenance. We found the location and direction of the trail varied a more than just a lot. Yes, I do know how to read and triangulate map positions. Ever try doing that in the dark? Also, the one thing I really hated, was the uncertainty of do I carry on with the hike or setup an excursion camp and wait out the night? How close was I really to base camp?

I decided then, it would be nice to have a GPS to keep our bearings on the camp. And, the right GPS, I surmised, would show me a map location of where my camp is in relationship to where I am at thus helping me to find my way back more quickly or make the judgement call of setting up a trail camp and wait out the night with confidence that I made the right decision. With the decision to buy one, I realized I would need to know I can trust the gadget in my hand to get me out of trouble and not into it. What better way than GEOCaching?

Cheers!

TL

Read about geocaching in a local newspaper. So I purchased a GPS so I could join in on the fun.

I've found many additional uses for the GPS since then and I won't leave home without. I've used it for cross-country snowshoeing, finding my way around strange cities, marking nice campsites while backpacking, marking dropoffs in lakes for fishing, determining my speed while downhill skiing, replacing the broken speedometer/odometer on my bike and more.