Opinions Needed - Garmin GPS12

Guest Omicron

Guest Omicron

I've got the opportunity to upgrade from my Magellan GPS 310 to a Garmin GPS12 (the base version, not color or able to download maps). The price I'll be paying is $120 plus shipping. What is the opinion of anyone that has experience with these? Is this GPS unit reliable, good quality? Are there any features of it that might end up driving me up a wall? Let me know...

Guest leaper64

I have been using gps12 for 6 months+. I have used it to make 3 stashes and find 2 so far. My only problem was battery consumption, I was changing batteries after 8-10 hrs....until I bought the power cable. In my opinion, a power cable is a must with this unit. FYI, I have had it side by side with the III+, and accuracy and ability to receive signal seemed identical. The III+ is considerably more dough, but does have some nice features (basemaps). The gps12 is a good unit for the money.

I agree with Leaper64, Omicron, the GPS12 seems to be a good unit for the money. I've only had it since Christmas but have used it quite a bit for various things. On the two stashes I've gone searching for both times I was within ten feet of the stash when the distance to waypoint read 0.00 miles. That seems pretty good to me. I am curious, however, how it will do once the leaves are on the trees.

Guest leaper64

one more thing, if you decide to go with the garmin gps12, i've found a good on-line source for power cables...and a few other accessories. try nupples.com

he is even offering free shipping until 25 jan.

I have had a 12 for nearly two years now. It now serves as a backup to my III+, which I got in 2000. It's a good, basic unit. In fact, for Geocaching, sometimes I think not having maps makes it a bit more fun and challenging.