Logging co-ords "as found"??

Guest zilla

Guest zilla

Just curious.. Is it ok to ask cachers who locate your cache to post the co-ords that they had on their GPS to the cache log here?? I recently had a cacher let me know that my co-ords seemed to be off a little bit [40 feet or so] .. I went out to the cache today and let my GPS average for over ten minutes and took a new reading.. It was slightly different, enough to account for an error.. Any thoughts here??

zilla.. yep I'm a newbie

Guest KF Quad Explorer

Usually if the coords are off more than 50' I will post the coords that I had in the log report. The owner can encrypt the log if he wants to. Anything less than 50' seems to be ok. It could be the sattelites your recieving are not exactally as to what was recorded. The sattelite readings change all the time.

Guest Iron Chef

I usually post the coords if the original coords seem really off or if it is a cache that many others have had a really bad time with. Either that or I just e-mail the people having problems and ask them if they would like a bit of help with coords and such, but I only do this for caches that have been abandoned by their owners.

------------------

-Iron Chef

_ _ _ _ _ _____ _ _ _ _ _

agefive.com/geocache/ ~ Fe-26

Lets Drive Fast and Eat Cheese!

Guest gstrong1

d 2D navigation.I own the eTrex Vista also, which I believe is the top of the line eTrex,& up here in the Northeast, I don't even bother bringing it along on cache hunts.Unless the cache is located in the middle of a soccer field, the unit is pretty useless.So if someone tells me my co-ordinates are off, I keep this in mind and ignore it.If 3 or 4 cachers report that my numbers are bad,I'll go back to the cache & see if it has been moved from its original location.Hasn't happened yet.My caches have been logged about 140 times & no-one has logged a miss.

------------------

Gary "Gimpy" Strong

Rochester,NY

[This message has been edited by gstrong1 (edited 11 July 2001).]