Backpacker Magazine letter to the Editor

Guest Fireman Jim

Guest Fireman Jim

I just picked up my first copy of Backpacker magazine today. Yes, I'm one of the testimonials about geocaching getting me off my rear. It had a letter to the Editor that portrayed our game/sport in a negative light. I'm not the letter writing type. However, I was hoping to solicit someone to assist with both presenting our side of the story and possibly educating the writer. The letter read as follows:

CACHE CONTROL

As a land manager, I am concerned about the serious impact geocaching and off trail use could have on our already overburdened land. Assuming the goal is to use a GPS on a scavenger hunt, it seems unlikely that geocachers would stay on a trail. I'd rather see geocaching happen on lands that can sustain off-trail use.

Dave Sutherland

City of Boulder Open Space and Mountain Parks

Boulder, CO

Now I can understand and support protecting certain parts of nature. But shouldn't we be innocent until proven guilty. Not wanting to restart a lot of threads. It just seems we (geocachers) are automatically bad people when we know we are not.

[This message has been edited by Fireman Jim (edited 14 August 2001).]

Guest jeremy

I'm not sure he's portraying geocaching in a negative light. He has valid concerns on how geocaching should be managed. Seems like a good idea to have geocaching on land that can handle off-trail use.

Jeremy

Guest k2dave

He is addressing a valid concern that we ourselfs are working with. By an increased effort to ask permission most likely it will follow that proper places that could substain off trail use would be requested by land managers. got to go - was going to say more - maybe later

Guest CaptHawke