Themes

Guest Squad51

Guest Squad51

I'm QUITE new to this sport/game! Awaiting the arrival of my newly ordered gps as I type this. I was just wondering if there are any themes that HAVEN'T been done yet? I haven't even sought my first 'find' yet, and I have my first 3 caches planned out! I live in Southern Colorado, plenty of room out here for them. Mine will all revolve around the firefighting/ems/rescue theme that my entire life seems to be connected to. Do these themes sound interesting to anyone or should I maybe go for a more 'universal' appeal. Thanks for any input!

Guest Ron Streeter

Your theme sounds good to me, and as I have a daughter in Colorado, I may even get to them ! (from CA)

The very first cache I found was called Survival and contained water, Clif bar, map, etc. Gradually it lost its theme, but I think its a good idea...go for it. Over time you will probably have several other themes as well.

Enjoy !

Guest Paul Lamble

Great idea about theme caches, but as the other poster said, they will eventually evolve their own identity as visitors give and take.

One thing you can do is use a consistent word in your names for your caches that share a theme. For example, you could call them "EMS #1" "EMS #2" and so on. It's not very clever, but this site has a keyword look up feature, so anyone interested in EMS-themed caches could find them that way. If you look up "Santa" in the keyword search, you'll find at least three that are themed to the Santa Fe Trail. Not bad.

Have fun.

Paul Lamble

Guest Anton

ne to see four others. There may be more, but if they don't have the word "confluence" in the title, they won't show up in a keyword search. I could look for them by using the lat/lon search parameters, but don't have the time.

While I don't use themes up front in my cache titles, per sae, I try to come up with interesting, and if possible, unique locations. My favorite site is one that even most of the locals don't know about.