gps 315 confusion

Guest perthcatt

Guest perthcatt

complete newbie to the world of gps here. i just picked up a mag 315 based on my reading here and elsewhere. now, i may just be a complete moron, but the manual that came with the unit seems... incomplete. can someone point me to some better documentation or something similar? ive spent a bunch of time on google.com and i simply cant find anything regarding this unit that makes sense.

FWIW, my problem right now is this: after i initialize the unit (at my workplace, outside and on a clear day), my location is shown to be n39 00.000 w105 00.000. whatever, i say. later, i set a landmark in front of my house. according to the gps, im over 100 miles from work, while according to my cars trip odometer, im 21 miles away. i must be doing something wrong.

sorry for the long post. icon_smile.gif

~james

Guest ClayJar

Okay, here's what I believe happened: You initialized the unit correctly, but it didn't have a good fix at work. It takes time for first fix (and it also has to download the "alamanac", which is the current data on which satellites are in which orbits and with which IDs, etc).

The coordinates N39 00.000, W105 00.000 are a "confluence" (a place where integer degrees meet), and there is a neat thing called the Degree Confluence Project that's collecting pictures and reports of all the confluences. So, if you look at the N39,W105 confluence, you can see that it isn't exactly where you were (or if it is, I want your job icon_wink.gif).

Anyway, the GPS receiver thought that you started out at that confluence, which would obviously make it a longer trip home. If you go back to work and mark a new waypoint (with good sky and such), you'll be able to find out where you really are. (You have no problem to worry about, but if you ever need to reinitialize the unit, give it a good 15 minutes of open sky to get fully loaded with all the data it needs.)