What model GPS is everyone using?

Guest Gweebaroo

Guest Gweebaroo

I'm just getting started here and am excited - the first trip is already planned. This is just what I needed - another hobby (lol). Anyway, I have been using the ETrex Summit for about 8 months now and combined with DeLorme Topo USA I'm excited about future treasure hunting trips. Let's spread the word and populate this new game!

I use the eTrex , though now I wish I had the eTrex summit (with the altimeter and compass). I'll probably end up purchasing an antenna since I hear that other units get better reception (and we're very woody in the Northwest). Is there an external antenna for the eTrex?

Welcome aboard!

Side note - I answered my own question, and found an antenna for the eTrex - Pretty pricey ($65 US) but it does work with a variety of GPS units, including the eTrex.

Jeremy

[This message has been edited by jeremy (edited 12-20-2000).]

Guest Mike_Teague

I use a Garmin GPS III and an Etrex...

Jeremy, where could you even hook an external antenna to on the etrex? Garmin does not even make an external antenna for it...

It fits in the place where you put your serial port connector. The car power adapter also fits in the slot, and I believe there is a serial/car power adapter combo out there.

It's that rubber cover on the back of the eTrex up at the top. There are 4 copper connectors there.

Reading the site, it looks like the external antenna is powered by the batteries in the eTrex.

Jeremy

I'm using my Garmin 12XL that I've had for 3-4 years now. Still works like a charm so I have no need to replace it (unless I can stumble across one of thos III+ units for $99). It doesn't support uploaded map images, but that's not a necessary option anyway.

Guest Mike_Teague