WAAS in Canada?

Guest blackjak

Guest blackjak

Does WAAS work in Calgary AB Canada? I have had connections to a WAAS station with my etrex venture, and noticed that diff data was sent (by the D indications on the sat strength bars), but my accuracy never changes. I get a maximum of 6 meters (18 feet) doesn't matter if I am WAAS enabled or disabled. I look forward to your comments.

Guest TeamCNJC

Using a Venture in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, I don't get much of a bump in accuracy, either. I get about 18-22 feet most of the time, and sometimes 16 feet in battery saver mode. Turning on WAAS/normal battery operation has gotten me to 14 feet, but only once for a few minutes, but usually doesn't seem to make a difference. It probably depends on where the ground stations are, but I'm no WAAS expert. -Craig

Guest mazda626

WAAS will work partially in Canada if you have a clear view to the south for the geosynchronus sats. However there are no ground reference stations in Canada so some of the corrections in the WAAS signal will not be applied. WAAS corrects for ionospheric, satellite clock and orbital errors. The largest error is ionospheric(5 metres)and you have to be close to a ground reference station to get the full benefit.

Correcting the clock and orbit alone errors should improve accuracy by about four metres.

Guest Prime Suspect

As WAAS was developed by and is a product of the government of the United States Of America, a license is required to utilize the signals anywhere outside US borders.

To receive a license, send $50 (US funds only) to

Prime Suspect WAAS Licensing

PO Box 298798376467

Dallas, TX

Allow 4 to 6 years for processing.

icon_wink.gif

Guest Prime Suspect

As WAAS was developed by and is a product of the government of the United States Of America, a license is required to utilize the signals anywhere outside US borders.

To receive a license, send $50 (US funds only) to

Prime Suspect WAAS Licensing

PO Box 298798376467

Dallas, TX