Jump to content

New counties in Connecticut?


Recommended Posts

After a county run recently, I was updating my stats and noticed 2 empty counties listed in the state of Connecticut. I was puzzled because I had completed that state a few years ago. I looked at a copy of my counties map from after my last trip and it shows 8 of 8 Counties.  Now it shows 8 of 10 counties. I searched around trying to find info but really cant find much. Anyone have any knowledge of this or could point me in the right direction?

Link to comment

Yes, in June 2022 the second-level geographic divisions in Connecticut were changed, much to the frustration of people like you who had previously found a cache in each of the former counties.  Depending on luck and location, some cachers will need to return to color in the newly created gaps.


If you Google "Connecticut new counties" you will see a lot of information about this change.

  • Helpful 1
Link to comment

From what I gathered in a quick search, the old counties are:
Litchfield, Hartford, Tolland, Windham, Fairfield, New Haven, Middlesex, and New London.
The new 'regional councils of governments' are:
Northwest Hills, Capitol Region, Northeastern, Western, Naugatuck Valley, Metropolitan, South Central, Lower CT River Valley, and Southeastern



New regional councils of Connecticut.jpg

old counties.jpg

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...