Question about hiding caches

dahobbitz

Hi everyone!

I’m looking to start hiding caches and have invested quite a bit to get ready. Sure, I will be doing some easier traditional caches of fav spots, but I also would like to do something else and I’m wondering if it’s against the rules.

I’m an author myself having written a middle grade fantasy novel. I would like to do a series of mystery caches based on characters in my book. The caches will be difficult to very difficult and will feature nice treats for everyone, especially FTFs. Would doing a series based on characters in my book be against any rules? There would be no need to buy anything, just solve puzzles, riddles and make your brain work!

Thanks!

dahobbitz

As long as the information is readily available I'm guessing it would probably be okay.  How does the geocacher connect the puzzles to your book characters, without violating any guidelines? 

I'm very happy to see that you have found a lot of geocaches of different types, so I don't expect a forum post from you asking why you can't see where all the final locations are that are keeping yours from getting published. 😁

It sounds like you have a fun and creative project in the works! Good luck. 

Edited by Max and 99
9 hours ago, dahobbitz said:

I’m an author myself having written a middle grade fantasy novel. I would like to do a series of mystery caches based on characters in my book. The caches will be difficult to very difficult and will feature nice treats for everyone, especially FTFs. Would doing a series based on characters in my book be against any rules? There would be no need to buy anything, just solve puzzles, riddles and make your brain work!

We've done series based on a few movies, games and novels.  If permission and guidelines met, it should be fine.

Checked out your country's regional placement wiki and couldn't find any info where most of your finds are.