what do you wish?

khalua

I've been using my Vista with WAAS enabled in Calgary for over 4 months and have never gotten a WAAS signal. I live in the NW and have gone almost everywhere (often bike on Nose Hill) in Calgary with my Vista. I think in order for WAAS to work is to have a totally clear view of the horizon which is something Calgary lacks.

I always get 5-6m accuracy on my Vista without WAAS.

If you're only planning on using the GPS in Calgary, I guess you don't really need it. It's good to have just in case you're traveling to places and want to get more fun out of the GPS icon_smile.gif

[This message was edited by masaki on September 29, 2002 at 01:50 PM.]

I've been using my Vista with WAAS enabled in Calgary for over 4 months and have never gotten a WAAS signal. I live in the NW and have gone almost everywhere (often bike on Nose Hill) in Calgary with my Vista. I think in order for WAAS to work is to have a totally clear view of the horizon which is something Calgary lacks.

I always get 5-6m accuracy on my Vista without WAAS.

If you're only planning on using the GPS in Calgary, I guess you don't really need it. It's good to have just in case you're traveling to places and want to get more fun out of the GPS icon_smile.gif

[This message was edited by masaki on September 29, 2002 at 01:50 PM.]

quote:
Originally posted by khalua:

I noticed the WAAS thread so is it beneficial to get it? I'm in the calgary area and want to learn as much as possible BEFORE i buy.

What is the one thing you wish someone had told you started using a GPS?

khalua

I wish I'd known how much fun Geocaching was going to be... OK! OK! I'll quieten down.

I started with a very basic unit and wished I had maps almost from the start... Finding out ahead of time what the best route is either to a cache or between caches is a very useful tool... with Urban and rural caches.

Handheld compass is useful too...