Walking Tour

WhatTreeIsThis

Newbie here. There is a whole world of geocaching that I didn't imagine before.

I'm thinking of using geocaching to identify and locate specific trees in a woodlands setting, and helping users to find those trees. Would this be appropriate? Would this be in the area of Adventure Geocaching? Maybe Wherigo Caches?

Please give me some guidance for where to look for further information. Many Thanks.

2 hours ago, WhatTreeIsThis said:

Please give me some guidance for where to look for further information. Many Thanks.

Please go find some geocaches before you hide any. 

We encourage you to find at least 20 geocaches before hiding one. The more variety of geocaches you find, the better you will understand how to create an enjoyable experience for other geocachers. Find additional guidance about hiding caches in our Help Center.

• Upvote 4
  • Helpful 1
5 minutes ago, Max and 99 said:

Please go find some geocaches before you hide any. 

We encourage you to find at least 20 geocaches before hiding one. The more variety of geocaches you find, the better you will understand how to create an enjoyable experience for other geocachers. Find additional guidance about hiding caches in our Help Center.

Good advice, except we won't be hiding anything. The trees are already there, right out in the open. We just want people to find them. Thanks.

• Funny 3
22 minutes ago, WhatTreeIsThis said:

Good advice, except we won't be hiding anything. 

So, without a container you have Earthcaching, but it's related to Geology, not Dendrology... unless you may qualify to a Virtual Reward, the only option would be an Adventure Lab, also only granted to experienced players.

Better start to hide a Multi, with stages on every tree you want us to discover.

Edited by RuideAlmeida
  • Helpful 2
6 hours ago, WhatTreeIsThis said:

Newbie here. There is a whole world of geocaching that I didn't imagine before.