Frustrated with first multi-cache. What to do when stumped?

pekafig
Followers 1

I'm new to the hobby. Been out and found a few caches and just tried my first multi-cache. Seemed to start OK, then hit a brick wall. This is for:

https://www.geocaching.com/geocache/GC18AV5

I navigated to the second set of coordinates ok, but it the "monument" had 8 dates on it and the clue was not clear. To get to waypoint 3, there's an "x" in the calculation but no instructions about what this means.

Lots of others have figured it out. Am I just too stupid for this or is there something I don't understand about the geocaching lexicon? What can I do when I get stuck like this?

Thanks for any tips.

Discussion about solving a particular cache is not allowed in the forums. You should contact the owner and ask for assistance. If that doesn’t work try to contact a local cachet and ask if you can team up when they attempt the cache. You can also look for other caches in the area that use the same technique but are less complicated so it might be easier to figure out. Good luck. 

• Upvote 1
7 hours ago, pekafig said:

I'm new to the hobby. Been out and found a few caches and just tried my first multi-cache. Seemed to start OK, then hit a brick wall. This is for:

https://www.geocaching.com/geocache/GC18AV5

I navigated to the second set of coordinates ok, but it the "monument" had 8 dates on it and the clue was not clear. To get to waypoint 3, there's an "x" in the calculation but no instructions about what this means.

Lots of others have figured it out. Am I just too stupid for this or is there something I don't understand about the geocaching lexicon? What can I do when I get stuck like this?

Thanks for any tips.

Wow, that is one crazy complicated math problem for a D1.5!  I’d probably skip it entirely. I’d go caching with a friend who solved it.  :cute: