FTF Geocoin Question (Etiquette)

FormerDevil

I'm getting ready to place a cache and have a FTF Geocoin I'd like to place in it for whoever the FTF is. It's trackable so my question is, as far as etiquette goes, should I be the one to activate it and then "drop it" in my cache once it's published or do I let the FTF activate it so that they are the "owners" of the trackable? It's my first time using a FTF trackable coin, so I'm not sure how best to go about it, especially since it's more of a collectible than a traveling trackable. 

Thanks!

25 minutes ago, FormerDevil said:

I'm getting ready to place a cache and have a FTF Geocoin I'd like to place in it for whoever the FTF is. It's trackable so my question is, as far as etiquette goes, should I be the one to activate it and then "drop it" in my cache once it's published or do I let the FTF activate it so that they are the "owners" of the trackable? It's my first time using a FTF trackable coin, so I'm not sure how best to go about it, especially since it's more of a collectible than a traveling trackable. 

Thanks!

If the gift is for them then let them activate it and own it. 

• Helpful 2

An FTF geocoin like this one does not "have" to be placed in a cache for the first finder, it's just a regular geocoin / trackable.

If you are placing a geocoin / trackable into a cache you're placing, then the best bet is to put the TB in a ziplock bag and add a note with what you intend it for, so the first finder knows if you're putting it in there as a prize for the person who finds it (without activating it, so that the finder becomes the owner) or as a regular TB to be logged and moved (activated, in your name with your description and mission). If it's a prize, I'd also put it in the ziplock bag with the logbook, if your cache is set up that way.

In either case, some people will also put a note about that TB in the page description, then edit the page to remove the note once the TB has been claimed / moved.