Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 11
sernikk

BUG: DNF drafts converting into founds

Recommended Posts

Opening a draft which is a DNF, opens the logging page, but with the cache marked as found. The funny part is, that you can't even change it, because the field is inactive.

 

 

obraz.png.53477553e658c3d30409bb89d5e9ded2.png

---

obraz.png.f5f7dfa80564ab0b996869c0a711dc60.png

 

Anyone else has this problem?

 

I'm using firefox, but my friends have no problem on changing logtype.

Edited by sernikk
  • Helpful 1

Share this post


Link to post

Yes, I have this problem on Firefox, too. I wanted to write a note on a page but I wasn't getting the drop down menu to change away from 'found it'. I tried Chrome and it works there. However, what I actually did was (on Firefox) 'opt out' of the 'new look' for logging and then I could change the type.

 

 

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post

I would prefer DNFs not to be able to be changed into a found. People should have to write a new log. Otherwise, this could be a sneaky way for people to get founds, when they didn't find it.

Share this post


Link to post
5 minutes ago, Goldenwattle said:

I would prefer DNFs not to be able to be changed into a found. People should have to write a new log. Otherwise, this could be a sneaky way for people to get founds, when they didn't find it.

 

This is not about changing the type of an existing log. It's about the fact that it's impossible to post a DNF log or note on a cache page because the only option for a new log is 'found it'. So far the problem only exists on Firefox when using the 'new look' for logging.

  • Upvote 2

Share this post


Link to post

this "new look" went live back in 2017, didn't it ?  I haven't changed anything, logged without problem using Firefox on the website when I found some caches back in October, but today I am having the same issue, unable to change the log type so that I can log a note.

 

eta: I did post a DNF and notes in October, not just found.

Edited by _dxd_

Share this post


Link to post

It's not just happening on drafts, it's on all logs entered on the new logging page. Clicking on the drop-down arrow next to the default log type does nothing so the log type can't be changed. I'm using Firefox 82.0.2 on Windows 10.

 

image.png.c15332da411b93fa1731f64d17cb26e6.png

  • Helpful 1

Share this post


Link to post
3 minutes ago, barefootjeff said:

It's not just happening on drafts, it's on all logs entered on the new logging page. Clicking on the drop-down arrow next to the default log type does nothing so the log type can't be changed. I'm using Firefox 82.0.2 on Windows 10.

 

Same problem for me on the same browser.

 

I fortunately only had 1 DNF today, but to log it I had to temporarily switch back to the old logging system to be able to change my log type.

 

Bunch of new additions to the "Found It = Didn't Find It" thread coming soon...

Share this post


Link to post

Same issue for me too on Firefox.

 

The smiley beside the drop-down is new if I am not mistaken? Seems to be another update they didn't test enough before releasing it.

  • Upvote 1
  • Funny 2

Share this post


Link to post

Also an issue on Safari 12.1.2 on OSX.

 

But if you click on the word "Found it" you get an option to change the log to DNF or Write Note. Which is a nice option, but needs the downward arrow option added back as well.

 

I hadn't realised quite how inefficient the new log page was. It really does need to have the same functionality as the old one.

  • Upvote 2

Share this post


Link to post
8 hours ago, barefootjeff said:

It's not just happening on drafts, it's on all logs entered on the new logging page. Clicking on the drop-down arrow next to the default log type does nothing so the log type can't be changed. I'm using Firefox 82.0.2 on Windows 10.

 

image.png.c15332da411b93fa1731f64d17cb26e6.png

 

Yes, later this day I noticed it happens even on logging caches not from draft list.

You can only log Founds, and on events only "Attended".

 

The only workaround which is pretty quick is to log the cache as it is and then changing logtype, because the editpage is old and functional, not like the new one which only looks good.

Share this post


Link to post

I use the old version, as it's better, but I switched to the new version to try it. All I can log are founds. As I had some DNFs today, that is no good.

Share this post


Link to post

I have this problem too.  I made a draft in the Geocaching APP with a DNF log.  When I go into my drafts on PC Windows 10 and Firefox version 82.0.2 the cache is marked with a DNF log.  But when I click on the link compose log for that cache I get to the new log page and the log type is set to found it.  I'm not able to change that log to a DNF log.  Please fix this issue.  I want to be able to log my DNF drafts as DNF logs using the drafts on PC.

Share this post


Link to post

This problem is happening to me too (15:01 GMT, 06-Nov-2020). I have just posted the logs for my last caching trip, only to find that the 3 DNFs have been posted as 'Found it's - much to my embarrassment!

This is happening on both the 'old' and 'new' Draft pages and using both Firefox 82 and Chrome 86. The geocache_visits file from my GPSr marks the cache as 'Didn't find it'...

 

801116745_Drafttext.jpg.5069989267c0bf48cc7154315c24f5f4.jpg

 

and when uploaded to the Draft page, appears as such -

 

Draft.jpg.8e626596630d0e7b35d8eb552d59e308.jpg

 

but when I go to compose the log, the logtype becomes 'Found it'.

 

Found.jpg.764ba7cbe160cabe7c666c9d31d535ed.jpg

 

The only difference I can report from the experiences of others in this post is that I have been able to use the drop-down box to change the logtype to 'Didn't Find it'

 

DNF.jpg.ee1ab68d46c19376a3e40c43f8a2b1c7.jpg

 

I have subsequently been able to edit the logs but this issue really needs to get fixed.

  • Upvote 3
  • Helpful 1

Share this post


Link to post

My DNF yesterday arrived on the site as a Found log.  It was sent as a Draft from The Official App.  I didn't observe the point of transformation, just noticed that the log had become a Found log once posted, so I deleted it and made a correct one.  Weird.

 

This did not occur with two DNFs I made on November 4th.

 

Share this post


Link to post

This just happened to me today.  I might have been able to change the log type, I didn't notice it was wrong until I submitted it.

Share this post


Link to post

I had this problem today also. Logged in the Garmin Device as DNF.

In the website's Drafts section, it's shown as DNF.

When you log the cache, it says Found!

On macOS 11 using Safari the Found can be changed to DNF, but there's a high risk of false logging...

Share this post


Link to post

I just experienced the same. My DNF Drafts appeared as a Found Its when I clicked the Compose Log.   Windows/Vivaldi (Chrome-based browser)

 

Another "Not Ready For Prime-Time" update. 

Share this post


Link to post

I ran into this about a week ago and figured it was just a temporary glitch. However, I just went to log some more caches from field notes and had it happen again.

 

HQ, can you please acknowledge that you're aware of this issue and are working on it? This bug will lead to quite a few mis-logged caches.

  • Upvote 3

Share this post


Link to post

This has happened to me twice, last week and yesterday.  I use the old version of drafts with Chrome.  All DNFs get converted to finds when I go to post them.  I can correct them back to DNFs before I finish the post, but this is a serious problem.  Is HQ aware?  If so, when will it be fixed?

Edited by Ocean Lovers

Share this post


Link to post

This same problem started for me a week or so ago. I make a DNF draft on the geocaching app and when I go to the computer and click on the draft, the Found it is selected in the draft. Yes, I can change it, IF I remember to look for that however, this feature has always worked before until now.  I am using Windows 10 with latest chrome browser.

Share this post


Link to post
On 11/11/2020 at 11:55 AM, Ocean Lovers said:

This has happened to me twice, last week and yesterday.  I use the old version of drafts with Chrome.  All DNFs get converted to finds when I go to post them.  I can correct them back to DNFs before I finish the post, but this is a serious problem.  Is HQ aware?  If so, when will it be fixed?

This is still a problem today!

Share this post


Link to post

Some friends of mine experienced the same problem, so I tried it myself. The screenshots of @mellers are relevant for what we experience. The select field shows the standard "found it" value ="2". I think that "selected" is forgotten in the source code. 

 

I tried it using Safari on iPad and Google Chrome in Win10, I can change the log type, but I can't remember we had to be careful and had to change it manually before.

 

 

 

draftdnf.png

Share this post


Link to post

Just a reminder that this BUG is very frustrating. I'm just logging my drafts and I forget everytime that I have to change the logtype afterwards. Horrible!

 

HQ, any info from the engineers?

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post

Unclear to me whether the problem is page related or if it's an issue with the log parser throwing back the wrong result to the browser.  Could be coming from either end.

 

Share this post


Link to post

Out of interest I tested this today:

  • I created and uploaded 2 drafts on the same cache, a DNF and a Found It.
  • When I went to log the DNF draft the activity was changed to "Found It", though the dropdown was enabled and I could have changed it to DNf. I abandoned logging this Draft.
  • I then logged the Found It draft.
  • I then went back to attempt to log the DNF draft and this time the activity was changed to "Write Note", though again the dropdown was enabled and I could have changed it to DNF.
  • Helpful 1

Share this post


Link to post
11 minutes ago, MartyBartfast said:

Out of interest I tested this today:

  • I created and uploaded 2 drafts on the same cache, a DNF and a Found It.
  • When I went to log the DNF draft the activity was changed to "Found It", though the dropdown was enabled and I could have changed it to DNf. I abandoned logging this Draft.
  • I then logged the Found It draft.
  • I then went back to attempt to log the DNF draft and this time the activity was changed to "Write Note", though again the dropdown was enabled and I could have changed it to DNF.

 

Indeed. It seems like they fixed the dropdown being locked and now you can change at least the logtype. But as you've said, all drafts still convert into Founds

Share this post


Link to post

+1 to that last post.  Am recording yesterday's logs, and all DNF are coming up Found, but at least it's something that can be changed again.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post

I made a DNF draft of a cache I had previously found.  At the log edit page, it has changed it "Write Note".  The original Draft remained "Did Not Find", it changes when I click to type the log.

 

 

Edited by kunarion

Share this post


Link to post
On 11/11/2020 at 4:55 PM, em_adventuring said:

Thank you for reporting this issue. We have alerted the Engineering team.

 

When will it be fixed??

  • Upvote 3

Share this post


Link to post
5 hours ago, MartyBartfast said:

I then went back to attempt to log the DNF draft and this time the activity was changed to "Write Note", though again the dropdown was enabled and I could have changed it to DNF.

 

1 hour ago, kunarion said:

I made a DNF draft of a cache I had previously found.  At the log edit page, it has changed it "Write Note".  The original Draft remained "Did Not Find", it changes when I click to type the log.

 

Some years ago it was possible to log several finds on one cache. Luckily (!) this has changed as there is no need for multiple found logs. So if you have any found it in your drafts but you found logged the cache before the log type automatically changes to note as there aren't multiple found logs possible.

 

So in this case you want to log the DNF. The bug occurs and changes the log type to found it. The normal algorithm sees the found it on a cache you already found - and changes the found it log type to note.

 

First thing is still a bug, the last one it a feature which is very useful.

 

Jochen

Share this post


Link to post

Phew! Glad this was already reported. It's happened a couple of times, and just this past weekend I noticed it (the first time I just thought I made an error and fixed the log) and felt I should report it as a bug. Looks like it's been around for weeks! :o And still not properly fixed? ...

 

I even got called out by a friend who was watching the cache I DNF'd wondering why my Find log was so strange. :laughing:

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post

 

On 11/12/2020 at 1:55 AM, em_adventuring said:

Thank you for reporting this issue. We have alerted the Engineering team.

 

This problem was raised on november 4. 

Now it's november 20. and it is still not fixed :( 

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post

Still not fixed :mad:!

In my day job, annoying regressions like this one have only one possible fix time-frame - it's spelled "ASAP!!", and more than 2 weeks doesn't fit that description ;) .

  • Upvote 3

Share this post


Link to post
On 11/20/2020 at 12:38 PM, SN67 said:

 

 

This problem was raised on november 4. 

Now it's november 20. and it is still not fixed :( 

 

And it is still not fixed!  Engineering must be having a long winter's nap!

  • Upvote 1
  • Surprised 1

Share this post


Link to post

I came here to see if there was talk about it.  My DNF drafts show up as finds.  As there is already a thread, I don't have to create a new one or try to recreate, lots of others see it also.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
On 11/24/2020 at 8:35 AM, Ocean Lovers said:

 

And it is still not fixed!  Engineering must be having a long winter's nap!

 

 

And it is STILL a problem on December 1!

  • Upvote 1
  • Funny 1

Share this post


Link to post

Well, 1 month has passed and the bug still there. I don't understand why this feature became a bug. This is very annoying because one may not detect that and will trick other geocachers that see Founds when there may be DNFs.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
1 hour ago, Fields111 said:

Well, 1 month has passed and the bug still there. I don't understand why this feature became a bug. This is very annoying because one may not detect that and will trick other geocachers that see Founds when there may be DNFs.

 

I'm logging my DNF's as Found all the time. I have to change it back later when I realize. Very annoying :unsure:

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post

It's baffling. Especially if this thread is being monitored. This is a blatant bug that's leading to misleading logs being posted, often unbeknownst to the logger (especially newbies)

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post

@thebruce0

How about you report my post up in the upper right to see if anyone is paying attention.  Make up whatever reason you like!

 

  • Upvote 2
  • Funny 3
  • Surprised 2

Share this post


Link to post
On 12/4/2020 at 7:01 PM, ecanderson said:

@thebruce0

How about you report my post up in the upper right to see if anyone is paying attention.  Make up whatever reason you like!

 

 

I just reported your post and about a dozen others in this thread.  I had also just checked one of my DNF drafts and the problem still exists.  This is extremely annoying.

Edited by Ocean Lovers
  • Upvote 1
  • Surprised 1

Share this post


Link to post
10 minutes ago, Ocean Lovers said:

This is extremely annoying.

 

Just like reporting the same thread several times? Yes, very.

  • Upvote 1
  • Surprised 1

Share this post


Link to post
1 hour ago, RuideAlmeida said:

 

Just like reporting the same thread several times? Yes, very.

 

 

Yep.  Nothing else seems to work.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post

Abuse of the "Report this Post" feature will not be tolerated.  All that this futile action accomplished was to place a long list of spam emails in the inboxes of dozens of volunteer forum moderators around the world.  Forum moderators, like RuideAlmeida and myself, are geocachers just like the rest of the participants in this thread.  We have no means of getting the right hamsters to run in the correct direction on the right wheels.

 

Only Geocaching HQ can fix this issue.  A Lackey acknowledged the bug in November and I know that, as of last Monday, HQ's engineering team is still actively working on it.  Geocaching HQ's protocol is to report back once the bug is fixed.

  • Funny 1
  • Surprised 1
  • Helpful 2

Share this post


Link to post
13 minutes ago, Keystone said:

Abuse of the "Report this Post" feature will not be tolerated.  All that this futile action accomplished was to place a long list of spam emails in the inboxes of dozens of volunteer forum moderators around the world.  Forum moderators, like RuideAlmeida and myself, are geocachers just like the rest of the participants in this thread.  We have no means of getting the right hamsters to run in the correct direction on the right wheels.

 

Only Geocaching HQ can fix this issue.  A Lackey acknowledged the bug in November and I know that, as of last Monday, HQ's engineering team is still actively working on it.  Geocaching HQ's protocol is to report back once the bug is fixed.

 

Thanks for the information.  I did not know that this would cause such a problem.  I will not do this again.  I apologize for the inconvenience.  In the meantime, it is good to know that the problem is being addressed, and I look forward to seeing it solved. 

Share this post


Link to post
On 11/6/2020 at 4:15 PM, mellers said:

This problem is happening to me too (15:01 GMT, 06-Nov-2020). I have just posted the logs for my last caching trip, only to find that the 3 DNFs have been posted as 'Found it's - much to my embarrassment!

This is happening on both the 'old' and 'new' Draft pages and using both Firefox 82 and Chrome 86. The geocache_visits file from my GPSr marks the cache as 'Didn't find it'...

 

801116745_Drafttext.jpg.5069989267c0bf48cc7154315c24f5f4.jpg

 

and when uploaded to the Draft page, appears as such -

 

Draft.jpg.8e626596630d0e7b35d8eb552d59e308.jpg

 

but when I go to compose the log, the logtype becomes 'Found it'.

 

Found.jpg.764ba7cbe160cabe7c666c9d31d535ed.jpg

 

The only difference I can report from the experiences of others in this post is that I have been able to use the drop-down box to change the logtype to 'Didn't Find it'

 

DNF.jpg.ee1ab68d46c19376a3e40c43f8a2b1c7.jpg

 

I have subsequently been able to edit the logs but this issue really needs to get fixed.

 

Exactly what @mellers is describing. I, too, use the old Field notes page. DNF gets recognized with blue frowning face and all, but when the logging page is opened, it is converted into a found it :o.

 

Like @mellers I am able to change the log type using the drop-down menu before logging but I have to be alert to what the correct value was in order for this to work.

 

@Geocaching HQ: Please prioritize. This has worked for years and was by all accounts only broken recently.

 

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 11

×
×
  • Create New...